The Pillars of Prayer (Salat) in Islam

The Pillars of Prayer (Salat) in Islam ~ Hi all readers! Prayer (salat) is a very important ritual in Islam. Not only that, even prayer is one of the pillars of Islam. In other words, a Muslim will sin if he does not do that. In addition, one of the other important things about prayer that we must know is, that prayer has several pillars. If one of these pillars does not exist, then the prayer performed by someone is invalid. In the study of Islamic law, the pillars of prayer (salat) are called أَرْكَانُ الصَّلَاةِ. That is what I will explain in this article.

By the way, before I explain the theme of this article further, do you know what are the pillars of prayer (salat)? Maybe there is one of you who already knows. But for those of you who don’t know, I want to say that there are ten pillars of prayer. The ten pillars are; intention, takbir ihram, standing in the obligatory prayers for those who are able to do that, reciting surah al-Fatihah, bowing, standing straight after bowing, prostration, sitting between two prostrations, sitting the last in tasahud and reading tasahud, and greetings.

Ten Pillars of Prayer (Salat) in Islam

One; Intention (Niyyat).

I guess we all know what intention (niyyat)is. The intention in prayer is one of the most important pillars because it will distinguish between movements in prayer and ordinary movements that resemble prayer. That is, if we do the movements in prayer and read the readings in prayer, if we do it all without the intention to pray, then the movements that we do and the readings that we say are not prayer. This is the important point.

Two; Takbir Ihram.

What is meant by “takbir ihram” is the utterance of those who pray (Allahu Akbar: اَللَّهُ أَكْبَرُ). The person who does the prayer must say it by raising his hands. So, if we do not do that, either by accident or forgetfulness, then our prayers are invalid.

Three; Standing in obligatory prayers for those who are able to do that.

What is meant by this third point is, that someone who wants to do the obligatory prayers, such as Dhuhr, Asr, Maghrib, Isha, Fajr, must do so by standing. Of course it’s with the note that he was able to stand up. If he is unable to stand, then he may pray by sitting, sleeping on his side, or even just by gesturing.

Maybe now you ask, what if what is done is recommended prayer, such as Qabliyah prayer and Ba’diyah prayer? Regarding the case, Islamic legal experts agreed that a person may do the recommended prayer by sitting even though he is able to stand up.

Four; Reciting surah al-Fatihah.

Reciting surah al-Fatihah in prayer is a must. Without it, the prayer that someone does is invalid. Someone who is praying must read it in Arabic, not another language. If he is unable to do that, then he must learn to do it.

If there is someone who does not memorize surah al-Fatihah, then he must read some verses of the Quran which are equivalent to seven verses in surah al-Fatihah. If he is still unable to do that, then he must read dhikr, such as al-Hadulillah (الْحَمْدُ لِلَّهِ), Allahu Akbar (اللهُ أَكْبَرُ), and La ilaha illallahu (لَا إِلَهَ إِلَّا اللهُ).

Five; Bowing (Rukuk).

All experts in Islamic law agree that bowing is one of the pillars of prayer. So, if someone does not do that when he is praying, then the prayer is invalid.

Six; Stand straight after bowing.

If someone has done bowing, then he must stand up straight. He must not immediately bow down, because standing straight after bowing is one of the pillars of prayer.

Seven; Prostrations (Sujud).

Prostration is also included as one of the pillars of prayer. Without it, a person’s prayer is invalid.

Eight; Sitting between two prostrations.

I think we all know that in every rakaat there is someone who has to bow down twice. Well, the prostration twice is separated from one sitting. That is what is called sitting between two prostrations.

Nine; Sitting last in tasahud and reading tasahud reading.

What is meant by the last sitting in tasahud is sitting after doing the final tasahud or the second tasahud. There is a reading that must be said by someone when he performs the final tasahud (last sitting in tasahud or in prayer). Without it all the prayers that someone does are invalid.

Ten; Salam.

The meaning of salam is to look to the right (this is mandatory) and to the left to doing salam. The reading that must be uttered by someone is “as-Salamu alaikum warahmatullah (السَّلَامُ عَلَيْكُمْ وَرَحْمَةُ اللهِ). It is also a sign of the end of prayer (salat).

All Readers! That is a brief explanation of the pillars of prayer (salat) in Islam. In several previous articles I have explained about the readings in prayer, such as when someone is bowing, prostration, and so forth. You can read the article itself because it is very important. Do you understand? If you want to ask, please ask!

I think that’s enough for this article. May be useful. Amen!

See you in the next article!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *